HPC and Data in Materials Design and **Discovery**

Teaching Team



Prof Sean Smith



Dr Jingbo Wang



Dr Maciej Cytowski



A/Prof Amir Karton



Prof Katya Pas





Prof Julian Gale



Prof Debra Bernhardt



Prof Ben Corry



Dr Asaph Widmer-Cooper



Prof Shyue Ping Ong















HPC and Data in Materials Design and Discovery is a collaborative graduate teaching initiative for the Australian computational materials science research community. Below you find some brief professional bio details of the stellar teaching team. In each case, the name is linked to their website and the video thumbnail links to a short excerpt from their live online teaching sessions delivered as part of the course! To enrol as an Australian postgraduate student or researcher in the field, please follow this link.

Prof Sean Smith is Director of the National Computational Infrastructure (NCI Australia) and conjointly Professor at the Australian National University (ANU). He gained his PhD at the University of Canterbury in New Zealand. He undertook postdoctoral research at Universität Göttingen and at UC Berkeley. He has held academic and management appointments at The University of Queensland, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, UNSW Sydney and ANU.	
Dr Jingbo Wang is Manager of Training and Research Engagement at NCI Australia. She gained her PhD at Cambridge University and undertook postdoctoral research at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and Geoscience Australia before taking up a staff scientist role at NCI.	Introduction to Gadi Jugar Mark
Dr Maciej Cytowski is Head of Scientific Services at the Pawsey Supercomputing Centre. He gained his PhD at the Polish Academy of Science and has held appointments at the University of Warsaw and Curtin University.	<image/>
Associate Professor Amir Karton gained his PhD at the Weizmann Institute in Israel. He undertook postdoctoral research at the University of Sydney before taking up his faculty position at the University of Western Australia (UWA).	Overview of Methods Used in Electronic Structure Calculations - Part Amir Ka University of Western Australia amir.karton@uwa.edu.au https://www.chemtheorist.com

Professor Ekaterina Pas gained her PhD at Universität Münster in Germany. She undertook postdoctoral research at the ANU and at Monash University before taking up her faculty position at Monash University.	Construction of Methods Used in Electronic Structure of Methods Used in Electronic Structure of Part I Post of Part I
Associate Professor Alister Page gained his PhD at the University of Newcastle in Australia. He undertook postdoctoral research at Uni Newcastle and at Kyoto University in Japan before taking up his faculty position at Uni Newcastle.	Lecture 5 Introduction to the Execution of Soliton University of Soliton
Professor Julian Gale is John Curtin Distinguished Professor and ARC Laureate Fellow at Curtin University. He gained his DPhil at the University of Oxford. He held research and faculty appointments at Imperial College London before taking up his professorship at Curtin University. He has also held a conjoint professorial position at Institute National des Sciences & Techniques Nucleaires, Saclay, France.	INTRODUCTION TO PRACTICAL ELECTRONICS STRUCTURE CALCULATIONS FOR POLIDS Julien Greit Badio at Mokeular and Life 30 Curter University
Professor Debra Bernhardt is professor and ARC Laureate Fellow at The University of Queensland. She gained her PhD at University of Newcastle in Australia. She held research appointments at University of Bazel, ANU and UQ before taking up a faculty position at Griffith University. She is currently a senior group leader at the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, UQ.	
Professor Ben Corry gained his PhD at the ANU. He held successive ARC research fellowships at UWA before taking up his faculty position in the Research School of Biology at the ANU.	Introduction to Molecular Dynamics Simulations II:
Dr Asaph Widmer-Cooper gained his PhD at the University of Sydney. He undertook postdoctoral research at ETH Zurich, UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory before returning to successive research fellowships at the School of Chemistry, University of Sydney.	



